Maps!

In my quest to track more metrics about my fitness journey, I decided to take a look at WHERE I’m working out, not just when/how long/at what intensity/etc. This is only tracking the classes I’ve taken through ClassPass, and not any other studio or home/run activities, but it’s still cool to look at. I’ve created a chloropleth map (the darker colors indicate where I’ve taken more classes, the lighter colors indicate where I’ve taken fewer classes) of my ClassPass activities below – click the link to see the map! Class locations are mapped by census block and tract, and I’ve labeled each tract (which in my case indicate individual studios) with the number of times I’ve visited that studio. I didn’t realize how spread out the studios were, until I started looking at this map, and can barely see all of the locations at once. I took a look at some distances, and it turns out I’m traveling an average of 26.5 miles per week to class! That’s more than a marathon! I’ve traveled a grand total of 345 miles so far, which is about the distance from NYC to Richmond, Virginia! And, it’s an average of 7.5 miles per class. Thank goodness for the subway! I’m excited to add on to this map, especially in new cities using my ClassPass Flex! How far you do commute to workout?

http://cglivergood.cartodb.com/viz/2358add4-ae5e-11e4-9bc1-0e4fddd5de28/embed_map

Leave a Reply

